If you’re a frequent user of Facebook Messenger, you will be aware that Facebook doesn’t make the deletion of conversations the primary feature of its messaging features. They fall towards the bottom when chats end, and the delete feature built into Facebook Messenger is prolonged. There are, fortunately, extensions for browsers that assist you in bulk delete messages on Facebook Messenger.
Disclaimer: The Internet Is Forever
Since you’re not the only person in these discussions, simply deleting your side of the conversation isn’t much. Another party can access it through their Facebook account Even if all participant deletes the conversation there’s a chance that the conversation’s records will exist in Facebook’s server. Because Facebook isn’t end-to-end encrypted as a standard (though you can enable this feature), messages that you share on it could remain in simple text for the duration of both of the accounts.
Are you sure you want to delete?
If your main goal is just to make sure no one who gets access to your Facebook can pry into your message history, complete deletion is definitely the best option. However, if you’re just looking to clear up your cluttered inbox, you may want to consider the “Archive” option. You can reach this by hitting the gear icon that appears when you hover over a conversation and clicking “Archive.” This moves it to a separate folder where your old messages can live, safely tucked away from your new ones.
1. The Official, but Slow Way
Open Facebook messages through Facebook.com or through Messenger.com. Either way, the “slow” way will work. In order to delete individual messages, you need to hover over each conversation on the left side bar where the three dots are located.
Once you click on the three dots, go ahead and click Delete. You don’t have to open up any conversations. You just need to be able to see the chat you wish to delete.
Unfortunately, this method still only allows you to delete one chat at a time, and it is not removed permanently. Should the person you were messaging respond back to you, the entire conversation will resurface. Can you consider this method a true bulk deletion option? Sure, as you can delete messages, just not all at once. It’s time consuming but does work just as well as the faster way.
2. The Faster Way to Delete Facebook Messages
Deleting Facebook messages one by one will undoubtedly feel tedious and, after a while, you’re just as likely to quit when it seems there is no end is in sight. That’s where the Google Chrome Extension “Facebook Fast Delete Messages” comes in handy. With this extension, you now have a true “one-click” option to nuke your entire message history once and for all.
Warning: with this extension, you cannot pick and choose which messages to save – it’s all or nothing.
1. Start by downloading and installing the Chrome extension from the Chrome store.
2. Once the extension is activated, a shortcut should appear next to the omnibox so you can quickly access it.
3. When you click on the icon, two options appear. The first is to open messages in the event you do not have Facebook or Messenger open. The second will delete all messages.
4. Click to delete all messages, and your entire Messenger inbox will disappear. Done!
It’s worth noting that when this extension opens the way to bulk deletion, however, it comes with one caveat. The problem is that messages will only disappear from your side. If someone sends you a message through an existing conversation on their own, and it is a matter of time, it will bring the entire history of that message.
3. Quick Delete from Messenger Web
Although it is not a perfect alternative for bulk, one easy method of deleting a message within Messenger is to delete it within a few minutes after a message has been sent. In general, if it’s not been more than ten minutes since the communication was made, you may be able to delete the message yet you and everyone else.
Select the message you want to delete, then click on the three dots that appear to the left of the message where Remove and Delete will appear. Click on Remove. This brings up two options: “Remove for Everyone” and “Remove for you.”
Make sure that you take the message off for everyone the person who received it will be aware that the message has been removed but will not be able see the contents of your message. After ten minutes, if you decide to delete a message messages remains accessible to the recipient, but it won’t be visible to you.
4. Quick Delete from Messenger Desktop
Similar to the browser and the browser app, Messenger on the Mac desktop application for Messenger offers the same “remove for you” and “remove for everyone” options. The app doesn’t provide the opportunity of bulk deletion, but in an emergency, the ability to remove each message at a given time might be helpful. Similar features are available on the Windows app, making these apps a method of quickly removing messages without having to delete everything at all at.
5. Quick Delete from Messenger Apps
Unfortunately, using the Facebook-owned Messenger app on iOS and Android won’t offer bulk delete, but they will add the same options as website and Mac/Windows apps. Instead of right-clicking in the desktop apps, you will tap and hold on any message you want to remove/unsend and follow the on-screen instructions. Unfortunately, there is no easy way to bulk delete messages on iOS or Android, so it’s a bit of work to remove your entire conversation history.